Me? Nominated for a Liebster Award?

Holy smokes, I’m blown away by Jo, the warm, endearing, soft yet fierce-hearted author of Life, Love and my version of motherhood on any given day but today more than any other when she told me she’d nominated me for a Liebster Award.

My first thought:  Me? I’m not worthy…

My second: Wow, I am honoured.  The Liebster Award is a way to honour blogs with limited numbers of followers (present company included — I was under 100 last time I checked) and say “hey, your blog is kind of awesome” or words to that effect.  Recognition is nice.  Thank you, Jo.  I am humbled and truly honoured that you thought of and nominated me. 

The rules are:

1. Link back to the blogger who gave you the award. Check! (See above.)

2. Answer the questions designated by the blogger who nominated you. Checkeroo check (see below).

3. List 11 random facts about yourself. < wince > Check (see below).

4. Nominate 3-5 other bloggers with less than 200 followers. Checkerama! (See end of post.)

5. Make up a set of questions for the nominated bloggers to answer. Ditto!

Questions I have been asked to answer:

1. Why did you start to blog?  Two reasons stand out.  1. I needed to spill my guts on a page and I figured a web page might actually benefit someone else.  My countless journals over the years have not provided that sense of community and connectedness. 2. I always wanted to write.  I once ran away and wrote a novel but never published it.  This is a good outlet for that passion.

2. What country are you from?  I suspect it’s obvious but I am not telling and you can’t make me! 

3. What is your favorite travel destination?  The next place I’ve never been to (yet).  And Maui.

4. What is your favorite quote or song? I don’t usually like country music but whenever I hear “I Saw the Light” by Hank Williams Jr. I can’t get it out of my head for weeks.  I don’t know if it’s my all-time favourite but it’s certainly up there. I have also long loved and recently developed a new appreciation for “There is a Light That Never Goes Out” by the Smiths, which I blogged about here.

5. Cheddar or Colby Jack? Yes it matters! Hahaha  I adore cheese but have developed a pretty bad allergy (throat swells) in the past year so it’s off limits for now. Really old, stinky and sharp cheddar if I could indulge.  I miss you, Cheese!

7. What is the most spontanoues thing you have ever done?  Certainly not trying to conceive!  Tough (but good) question. 

8. Favorite Movie?  Breakfast at Tiffany’s

9. Most prized posession?  Does my family’s love count?  If not, I’ll have to say a good shoe collection.

10. Who do you admire most?  My late mother. I am in awe of how she survived and triumphed after losing two children (age 8 and at birth) before she moved across the world to get away from it all and had my brother and I.  And I admire her dedication to being a mother, despite her shortcomings in that role (and we all have our shortcomings!).

11. What was the last movie you saw?  Mr. Peabody & Sherman (with the LP and the Miracle Baby – awesome company!)

Eleven Random Facts (About Me)

1.  Favourite colour? Orange!

2.  Chose spouse whose favourite colour was also orange.  Go orange!

3.  I fell off the bumper of a moving pickup truck driving >30 miles an hour (50 km/hr), rolled into a ditch and didn’t break anything.  I had some pretty cool scars for a long time, though.  Only one survived growing up so I guess I was okay!

4.  I was certain that riding a roller coaster wasa kin to making a pact with death when I was young.

5.  I used to volunteer teaching refugees English because there is no public funding for that where I live.

6.  I was obsessed with animal marionnettes as a child.  I even made a bird marionnette out of apples once (not a durable construction material!).  Now they creep me out, especially the one made to look like people.

7.  I suffered a brain injury in a car accident after my first degree and couldn’t read for a while and then for years only with bad headaches and vomiting.  My dreams of going to graduate school were gone.  I was lost and moved to another country where I didn’t speak the language because I could learn auditorily with no headaches.  Eventually I went back to school and threw up almost every day during the first year of my second degree.  If I had not promised my  mother I would finish while she was awaiting her first surgery for advanced-stage cancer, I would never have done so.  Thanks, Mom.

8.  I have the ugliest toes. Thanks, Dad!

9.  I make a mean marguerita.

10.  I thought Kiss were really scary when I was wee.  Especially that tongue.

11.  I once nearly passed out on the back of a motorcycle driving through the desert in Arizona during a heat wave.  We even had cooling vests, but I got so hot we had to stop or I could have had a repeat of #3 above, but with perhaps far worse consequences.  [MBS, if you’re reading, remember that?]

Bloggers I hereby nominate (should you choose to accept the honour, see RULES above):

My Hope Jar

Ever Upward

Raising Kids With Love

Dear Nominees, if you choose to accept the nomination you must answer the following 11 questions:

1.  Favourite childhood memory?

2.  Who was your dearest friend when you were growing up and why were you so fond of her/him?

3.  If you could be anywhere right now, where would you be and who with?

4.  Favourite food or foods?

5.  Have you ever been afraid to do something and later recognized you missed out on a great opportuity? Tell us about it.

6.  If you had to dress up for Hallowe’en this year, who or what would you be?  Why?

7.  What is the most difficult challenge you have ever faced?  What happened?

8.  Do you believe in miracles?  Wish you did? 

9.  If you were another kind of animal, what would you be?

10.  Best meal you remember having and where you had it?

11.  Favourite book?

There are several other bloggers with who I feel a sincere connection but who either have already been Liebster recipients or have more than 200 followers. Them’s some strict rules (I understand the original Liebster rules were less than 3,000 followers – not sure how that morphed into 200).  It’s tough choosing just 3 of the bloggers I admire and appreciate!

Thank you for reading, everyone.  I cannot tell you how grateful I am for the community and connection I’ve experienced since starting this blog last Fall.  Simply put, I’m in awe and flushed with gratitude.

10 thoughts on “Me? Nominated for a Liebster Award?

  1. I feel you on the cheese. I’ve recently developed a dairy sensitivity. I miss old cheddar. I think you love those songs because you are working on letting your own light shine 🙂

  2. Those are some amazing facts hon. It’s wonderful to learn a little more about you. I can’t believe you suffered a brain injury! You’re amazing and so strong, and I’m so glad you’re okay now!

    Thank you so much for nominating me. I am so touched and honored! I’ve been so busy this week with work, but I will post about this soon 🙂 P.s. My husband and I both love orange too!

    • I love that you guys love orange!

      It was a little scary hitting “publish post” after spilling those facts. But I figured that with the narrow focus of my blog it’s unlikely it will ever have a massive readership and only a small handful of people who know me in real life read it and either know those things or I’m okay with them discovering them. Ah, the joys of kind-of-anonymity!

      Your blog, dedication and heart are impossible not to applaud. The honour is mine to have found you, though I’m sorry we are both “here” for such sad reasons.

      • I know! We’re such kindred spirits 🙂 For the most part, I love that my blog is so public, but there are definitely times when I wish it was private! I am so honored to have found you too hon ❤️

Leave a Reply

