I am Still Alive and so is Baby

* pregnancy mentioned *

In case you’re wondering… I am still kicking about and so is Azulito.

It was a very busy week at work and I got some really devastating news on Thursday morning that a close friend had died suddenly and unexpectedly on Wednesday afternoon. I was a mess all day Thursday and eventually went home early and to bed.

As fates would align, I was also blessed with bad morning (meaning all day and evening) sickness and the most intense exhaustion I can remember short of the day after an all-nighter this past week. I actually fell asleep sitting at my desk four times with past week. I need to start closing my door so passers-by don’t wonder if I have developed a case of narcolepsy.

The LP and I got to see baby together on Friday. The little munchkin had very obvious leg and arm buds and a great big noggin. The technician tried to arrest my heart. She said baby was measuring one day behind my dates based on transfer – meaning it was measuring 9w1d, the same as s/he had measured four days earlier at Dr. Braverman’s office. My stomach flipped and my heart raced and leapt into my throat. I asked her how that could be since baby looked bigger and had measured that size four days ago.

She insisted I was just paranoid from all of my losses and tried to explain how a “proper” crown-rump length (CRL) measurement is taken. I wanted to smack her and let her know I could probably do her job by now and that I was pretty sure she and her equipment were not more accurate than my Reproductive Immunologist and his wares. I gave her my best “lady, you are about to kill me or me you” look. She tried again. 9w5d. As egos would have it she maintained her first measurement had been accurate but said she would take 3 and average them. The average was 9w4d but I know the last two were 9w5d so I am going with that and hoping I don’t get the same technician next time.

I am still really tired all the time and that – coupled with passing out at my desk – means I’m behind at work. And that means this post ends here do I can finish up some work and go home to my boys and my four legged girl.

I hope everyone in the good old US of A enjoyed a safe and love-filled holiday (or survived insufferable relatives if not). I am officially excited about the coming Christmas holidays even if I sometimes wonder whether I married Ebenezer Scrooge reincarnate.

33 thoughts on “I am Still Alive and so is Baby

  1. So happy to see that you and your little one continue to be well. And while the narcolepsy is unpleasant from a work perspective, it is a great pregnancy symptom! 🙂
    I am very sorry about your friend, and wish you and all of her family and friends all the support they need through what will be a very difficult holiday season.

    • Thank you, MPB. I appreciate the kind words. I hope the fact that baby wants to grow so much may be a factor in the crazy fatigue and not that it is a sign of low iron for which i have a bad tendency. I meant to ask my Dr to check it when I saw her Nov. 10th but forgot. I will have to ask her this comimg Friday when I see her.

  2. I am so sorry to hear of the loss of your friend. Wishing you strength as you mourn your friend. But I am glad to hear everything is continuing to go well wight the pregnancy. And you have the best excuse for narcolepsy/fatigue!

  3. I’m so sorry to hear of your loss. I’ve been thinking about you and wondering how you’ve been feeling. Glad you asked the tech measure again and it sounds like baby is growing beautifully! I’m so very thrilled for you. I, too, am tired ALL the time. I took a two hour nap in the middle of thanksgiving dinner Thursday which means I missed cleaning up…darn! Hope you’re having fun decorating for Christmas and trimming the tree.

      • Ah, we have a fake tree (sadly, real trees give me asthma attacks and hives) so I put it up as soon as Thanksgiving was over 🙂 It hits me really hard between 2-4 pm. I try to get up and walk around the office to keep from closing my eyes.

        • That’s about the same time I battle to stay awake. I grew up with fake trees too because my brother had ultra severe asthma (was intubated in ER a few times growing up when he stopped breathing during attacks and was hospitalized more than once every single year of our childhood) so now I crave the smell of real trees at this time of year. I never had a real tree until I left home at 18 and then lived alone for years off and on so still had tiny fake ones. I am usually out getting a tree on one of the first weekends they are on sale. This year I’m late but planning to go this week!

  4. I am very sorry for the loss of your friend. I lost two friends last year, and it was a very strange feeling- I really didn’t know how I should feel. Ultrasound techs can be so variable. Glad you self-advocated. I also married Scrooge incarnate. Though, she has softened up over the years.

    • Ha ha! I need tips on softening up my scrooge. I am sorry for the loss of your friends. I feel devastated by my friend’s death whether that is how i should or shouldn’t feel is something that thankfukly never occurred to me. Grief can be so strange. I hope you had supports to help you last year.

      • I think seeing me happy due to festive things softened her up. I also think that we have tried spending more enjoyable time doing festive things. She still wasn’t all that interested in going to the One of A Kind Christmas Show with me though… Lol.

  5. Love hearing this amazing update and hearing that baby is doing well. Sorry to hear that your feel exhausted but wishing you a great week and can’t wait for the next update. 😊

  6. I’m so sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. 😦 I know how tough that is to lose a close friend.. ❤ I'm so glad the baby is doing well and yes, you could probably do the technician's job. Why don't people just admit when they are wrong?? Thanks for the update.

  7. I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. 😦 As for Azulito, I think your ultrasound story is just another reason why we all need to be our own advocates! Glad to hear baby and Mom are doing well even it you are tired. (blessing in disguise?)

  8. Oh hon, I am so very sorry to hear about your friend. Sending lots of prayers and peace to you and your friend’s family.

    I’m so very relieved to hear that you and Azulito are doing well though. Huge hug hon.

  9. So incredibly happy to hear your little one is doing well. I had a great feeling about this from the start. I think about you all the time and I just want you to know I am sending you a ton of prayers and positive energy. XO

  10. Hello, lovely! I wanted to let you know that at noon tomorrow (Friday), I’m publishing something you might want to approach with caution. It’s about a friend who lost a baby, and I didn’t want it to take you by surprise. Elizabeth H. has been lovely and vetted it for me (I was afraid I was being insensitive), but I wanted to give you a heads up. Thinking of you and the lentil! Hugs!

  11. So I accidentally unfollowed your blog? This keeps happening to me, WTF. Anyway, I’m all re-followed and am now going back and reading all the posts I missed. I’m so sorry about your friend. All losses are awful, but a sudden and unexpected one is its own special kind of hell. And also, sorry that your tech was a dumb ass. I’m glad she remeasured, though, and that A is right on track! Xo.

Leave a Reply

