Feliz Dia del Amor y la Amistad!

Today is “Valentine’s Day” where I live. I will not wish you a happy “Valentine’s Day”.

Instead, please accept my warmest wishes for a happy and peaceful day of love and friendship!

Valentine’s day is a commercial invention that annoyed me until I lived in Mexico. I considered what it could mean if we embraced a transliterated interpretation of this marketing construct (meaning “day of love and friendship”) as opposed to a routinely translated one (meaning “Valentine’s Day”, not to be confused with the Christian-faith calendar’s St. Valentine’s Day, which I am not suggesting is a commercial invention).

On this Day of Love and Friendship, I feel compelled to express deep love and deeper gratitude for the opportunities I have been afforded – and in that I include the ones that I have fought hard, suffered long, paid and indebted myself and my family heavily to pursue – and the gifts of love and friendship I enjoy each and every day. This includes you, friends. Thank you for being you and for sharing that singularity with me.

2 thoughts on “Feliz Dia del Amor y la Amistad!

  1. V-day was waaaaay more fun when I was single/dating. Now that I’m happily married it has lost it’s meaning, because we show our love every day and need no fanfare. All the same, much love to you! ❤ XOXO

Leave a Reply

