We have a date (and a change of heart)

I am now officially scheduled to deliver  baby Azulito/a on Tuesday, June 9, 2015 via ceasarean section. 

I have spent the past several months being upset and frustrated that I would not likely have a chance to deliver this baby as I did the MT, without surgical intervention.  Last week a glimmer of hope appeared – maybe my placenta would move enough and I would have the opportunity to attempt a vaginal delivery.  Along with that glimmer came a dark cloud: the risk of an emergency hysterectomy.  

I have spent much of the past week worrying about this. Ultimately I decided in consult with the LP that I would prefer to avoid risking an emergency trip to the OR more than insisting on a vaginal delivery (or an attempted one), if that even becomes an option. I  going to speak with my OB next week about this but that’s where I am presently leaning. 

Stay tuned!

17 thoughts on “We have a date (and a change of heart)

  1. I am so excited for your to bring Azulito/a into this world!! I am sorry that the possibility of a vaginal delivery seems to risky, but honestly, I just think what matters most is that baby arrives safely.
    Do you realize June 9th is only 26 days from now?! It feels like just yesterday we were in NYC with you, both contemplating the route to our future families!! Wow has so much happened since then. I’m so excited for you!!

  2. Oh my gosh–June 9th! So incredible to see it actually written down! I can’t help but think that 6/9 is the perfect day for a birthday because I am totally in love with the number 3. So excited for this new little Gemini to join us! (I’m a Gemini also–June 2nd.)

  3. That’s terrific! A June baby!! I am relieved that you only have a few more weeks, given how tumultuous this pregnancy has been. Relax and enjoy the next few weeks of quiet time because things are about to become very chaotic…. in a good way :’)

  4. Wow. I can’t believe it’s so soon! Time goes so quickly from the outside perspective. I’m so glad you’ve made some peace with your possible delivery method. Honestly, I know it’s not your ideal but it sounds like a smart choice to me. Kelly Meehan (who you introduced me to) does a lot of work around spiritual c-section births if you weren’t already aware. Tell baby A to start getting ready… it’s time to come home to your waiting arms.

    • Thank you so much for that reminder. I had completely forgotten she did that work. I hope you start feeling better soon and find a doctor to give you some for the reassurance with another ultrasound. Thank you so much for all of your support before and during this pregnancy. I am so grateful.

  5. Time is flying by! I know the decisions are hard and sometimes taken from us (I had to have an emergency C as he was breech and they did not want him to go into distress) All in all the end goal is hearing that first cry and touching them for the first time. All will be well and thinking of you. Cheers to June 9th!

  6. I am so glad to hear that you have a plan. As we have all learned on our journeys, so much is beyond our control. We can only strive to make the best decisions possible with the information we have. I’ll be counting down the days til baby’s birthday. When I think about it, I just keep getting this intense feeling of love. Remember, no matter how baby arrives, that feeling is always the same.

    • So true. Thank you so much for saying that and for your support along the way to us getting here. It’s only 3.5 weeks now – Eep! You will be in my shoes before you know it. Time flies (except during TWWs and with agonizing over test results).

  7. Only a matter of time now! I’m sorry that you won’t get the birth you’d prefer (I will probably face the same thing myself) but the thing to remember is that the baby has to come out somehow……and your experience will be your experience, and nobody else’s. And that makes it singularly beautiful and unique. I can’t wait to hear all about it and hopefully you can give us some pics of him/her when s/he makes the grand appearance! All best! Xo

  8. 6 + 9 = 15 Seems like a pretty harmonious and balanced date and year to be born! It’s exciting that you have a date to look forward to. I’m sorry you’re kind of mourning the loss of a vaginal delivery, but from what I’ve heard from friends who’ve delivered via section, it still ends up being a very joyous and memorable experience. I’ve been keeping my mind open to the idea of a c-section too- as babies in my family tend to be on the large end of the spectrum (10-11lbs consistently), and Dumplin’ is already showing signs of being a biggun’.

Leave a Reply

