The Mystery Remains Unsolved

To you lovely friends who offered comforting words and condolences yesterday evening about the pain and sleep deprivation I’ve been experiencing lately: Thank you from the bottom of my heart. Your kind words, wishes and prayers meant so much. 

And they may have worked! I got some sleep last night. Still interrupted by pain jags but much more sleep overall than in many days.

At the hospital, we eliminated all serious conditions that could be causing the pain: pulmonary embolus, lung infection, enlarged or dysfunctional spleen, low platelets, signs of infection via blood test. Thankfully, all of those were ruled out. That’s the good news. 
The not-so-good news is that they cannot give me anything I can take for the pain. The only drugs they recommended at this late stage when the baby (whose liver is far more vulnerable than ours) would get it too are Tylenol and Tylenol 3 (with codeine). I am allergic to a filler or bonding component that’s used in codeine; drugs containing it make me throw up (a rather violent action I’ve been trying hard to avoid). So that’s not an option. Darn. 

The pain is likely a result of inflamed rib joints and surrounding tissue which has gotten worse rather than better – mysteriously – over the past couple of weeks since I injured them coughing my lungs clear. Because Azulito is a big-time mover and shaker, I suspect that the kicks and jabs to that area (which are very painful unlike the kicks to the same spot on my other side, which are just slightly uncomfortable) and the muscle spasms they bring on (man, those hurt! And take my breath away) are largely to blame. 

I also think that the LP’s insanely busy work schedule replete with long hours that mean I’ve been flying solo with the Miracle Toddler much more than usual for the past several weeks and the MT’s decision to become my Velcro-child recently (insisting I pick him up and carry him often or endure his sobs and anguished expressions) are not helping me heal the bruised ribs and surrounding tissue. There is no easy remedy for either of those at the moment, unfortunately. 
Last night I took two extra-strength Tylenol and 3 mg of Melatonin. The latter knocks me out when I’m not pregnant. I do not usually take it while pregnant because of the conflicting information about its safety to baby. Last night I was desperate. And I slept more than I have since Wednesday night of last week. Sorry, Azulito/a, if I made you drowsy or screwed you up in any other way last night. Your mommy needed some rest. 

I am truly hopeful that this is the last time I feel compelled to go to L&D on an emergent basis to rule out any serious issues that could impact the safety of baby or me in this pregnancy. Three visits like this are enough. Only three weeks and one day left for my placenta and baby A to hang in there. Thank goodness the end is near. 

And thank goodness for all of you. Thank you again for your love, kindness, support, prayers and sweet words – both when I was stuck in the hospital last night and always. 

15 thoughts on “The Mystery Remains Unsolved

  1. I’m sorry they couldn’t provide you with better relief from the pain, but I am so glad they ruled out everything serious and that you ground a way to get some real sleep last night. I hope today is a better day!

  2. I’m so sorry you’re going through this. I struggled with severe pain and insomnia during my pregnancy with Evelyn, and I know how much it can really mess with your mental health. I hope you get some relief soon!

    • Thank you. I went through awful insomnia with my son as well and this pregnancy has had bouts of some of the worst insomnia I’ve ever experienced largely thanks to crazy-high doses of steroids to keep things going but couple it with pain is just too much. Thanks for empathizing!

  3. I’m glad they didn’t find anything serious wrong, but sorry you are still in so much pain. I’m glad you were able to get some good rest. Take good care of yourself! ❤

  4. Oh Dear! I’m sorry you’re in so much pain. I am glad that they didn’t find any major issues though. My SIL had the same kinds of rib pain at the end of her pregnancy from coughing too hard also. I can only imagine how much it hurts. The sleep deprivation must just be the icing on the cake at this point, right? I’m sorry this is so hard. But you’re almost there. Before you know it you’ll have a whole other reason why you’re not getting any sleep! Keeping you in my thoughts and prayers.

    • Funny you mention that. My SIL pulled a muscle over her ribs a few weeks ago and her chiropractic massage therapist corrected it (and said it could take 3-6 weeks to heal even after the correction) but apparently they won’t do that when one is pregnant. I’ve been involved in two trials against negligent chiropractors when I still did medical malpractice defence work and unfortunately I’m quite wary of the discipline as a result of my observations in those cases and my own terrible experience with a chiropractor the one time I went. I don’t think I want any new gambles in these remaining 3 weeks. 😉

Leave a Reply

