A very quick update

Azulito/a’s scheduled birth date is still June 9, 2015. 

The placenta has not moved at all from my last ultrasound three weeks ago. A cesarean delivery is mandatory. 
Thank you thank you thank you for your tremendous outpouring of support and kindness in response to my last post. 

I am going to try my best to mentally prepare myself for the possibility that I may need an emergency hysterectomy on June 9th if the risk of placenta accreta (placenta invading uterine wall, posing risk of mom bleeding to death if not medically resolved, the most extreme means of which is removal of the entire uterus) becomes reality. I am going to will that not to happen but want to stay as calm as possible if it does. So that will be my new project.

That and surviving this awful nausea for the next 13 days. 

I have to go back for one more ultrasound at the Perinatology (Maternal Fetal Medicine) Clinic on June 8th to make sure things remain on track. 

Today baby A was estimated to weigh 6 lbs 4 oz – only a couple of ounces less than what the Miracle Toddler weighed at birth. Of course that estimate can be off by up to one pound at this late stage so the little one could weigh 5 lbs or 7 lbs or anywhere in between! 

We are at T minus 13 days and counting, folks. Holy mackerel!

37 thoughts on “A very quick update

  1. I know a section wasn’t your preference but I’m glad you have some degree of resolution and a path to follow. I’ll do my best to will your placenta into obedience as well!

  2. Holy crap, 13 days! I know this is hard, I can only imagine what you’re going through right now. I know this was not your preferred plan but it’s a plan and having a plan is better than not knowing what will happen. I am praying that you will get the best possible scenario and that baby A is safely in your arms soon. My thoughts are with you.

  3. WOO! So close now! I’m sorry you won’t get the type of birth you had hoped for, but I’m glad you have a definite plan. I hope this puts your mind at at ease a little bit. Hysterectomy is not going to happen. I will will it so. And I have a lot of willpower. πŸ™‚

    • Yes I think my overwhelming feeling is relief too – at not having to advocate, not having to suffer the anxiety of waiting to do that advocacy until next week Wednesday and not having to worry about the LP worrying himself sick if I chose to try to deliver on my own and at a very deep level not worrying about how my body would respond to general anaesthetic if I needed emergency surgery given my lousy history of bad BP drops under general. I’m excited to meeting this little person. Finally I am starting to believe this will actually happen.

  4. I’m with Awaiting Autumn today, I know a c-section wasn’t your preference, but I think being safe is the best approach. I’m excited that your little one has a birthdate!!
    I desperately hope you don’t end up with an emergency hysterectomy, but I think trying to mentally prepare yourself might be a useful.

  5. Yay for a plan you can work with. I’m hoping that your placenta behaves, and that there is no need for an emergency hysterectomy. I hope that the nausea abates, and that the next 13 days are filled with easy breezy nesting activities. Just think of how wonderfully easy parenting two under five will be after a stressful pregnancy like this! I

  6. I am glad that you are doing the c-section. The thought of something going wrong and happening to you or the baby was very frightening. 13 days and the little one will be here ! YAY! I am sooooo excited for you ! You deserve this and I know you will be so relieved to lay eyes on this little miracle. Have you done the nursery? Be sure to post pics of it after little one gets here πŸ™‚ Try to relax and get a pedicure or something to pamper yourself. xoxo

    • I like your style my friend! They will make me remove the polish (they always do here before surgery) but I think a pedicure is in order!

      Thank you for your kindness and support. I can’t wait to be cheering on your last 13 days next year. πŸ™‚

  7. I’m happy to read this post today. I was so worried about you in the other post. I know the fear never goes away. Thinking of you and believe you will bring this baby home safely. You’ve got this. ❀

    • Thank you. That’s very kind. I’m going to be counting down days. Thankfully the little bug is moving and already trying to break out so at least I can tell things are still chugging along but the other day I made the MT wait at the park while I lied down under a tree and rolled until I felt movement. That kind of anxiety just sucks. I hate that so many of us go through this. Then again I’m so grateful to have this worry at all, right? Bittersweet symphony, that’s life…

  8. I’m glad to hear from you and hear what the plan is. I’m sorry it’s not what you had hoped for you. You will continue to be in my thoughts! I hope that the next bit of time waiting doesn’t feel like forever. ❀

  9. Just caught up on a your posts.
    Wow!
    Wishing you the best and keeping you In my thoughts and prayers. X

  10. Sending you prayers for you and baby for a safe and healthy delivery.. Hope all goes well. Its been a journey for you guys.. I’m sure you can’t wait to hold your miracle. All the best!!

  11. I’ve been doing OK..moving forward hopefully soon we will have a plan as this will be our last shot at giving it a go. I guess we are taking a break trying to find work and get back to life because infertility knows how to ruin things. One day at a time…

Leave a Reply

