Thoughts on Redundancy 

I have often wondered in the past 12 months whether to officially park this blog or disable it as its purpose – bringing my spirit baby home – was achieved (thanks be to God, the Universe, my Obstetrician, my Reproductive Immunologist and my tenacity). 

And it’s tough not feeling guilty for throwing my success in the faces of my sisters who soldier on – I remember the anguish posts by those who had living children evoked in me before the MT and by those who had more than one while we endured failure after failure on the road to bringing home our spirit baby. 

But enough about me. This post is about the blog and what purpose I envision it serving going forward. The thought that maybe it could help others has fuelled my ambivalence and the hesitance to disable or abandon it with deliberation (as opposed to the inadvertent neglect born of a busy job and busier couple of boys that’s resulted from Life in the past 12 months and especially since I returned to work last December). 

You see, every so often I get an email from a stranger who has stumbled across my humble blog. I’m always surprised by this as I’ve never marketed or cross-posted on twit.ter or insta.gram to increase traffic or otherwise. Candidly I have always considered this space primarily self serving and at best entertaining. Now that I have little to no time in which to write and post here the space began to feel redundant. What was I adding tithe blogosphere that warranted keeping this site alive?

For better or worse I haven’t found time of lard to give that question prolonged thought. Admittedly it has always been my hope that if someone came here needing help or information or a friend in recurrent loss, she or he would feel welcome to contact me. Each time I am contacted I respond genuinely and as generously as life permits. 

Late last week someone from the company that maintains Dr. Braverman’s website contacted me. He said some things that surprised me and made me reflect anew on what this blog has to offer and how I could be part of expanding options for others struggling with recurrent pregnancy loss or unexplained infertility that may have immunological causes. 

In the end I accepted his invitation to post a link to Dr. Braverman’s website not to increase my doctor’s wealth. He needs no help in that department (a fact of which I’m regularly reminded as I continue to pay down the debt a year past our spirit baby’s first birthday). Rather, I wanted to make it easier for women and couples needing help – like I did – to find me and to find him and other available options. 

In short I wanted to make this space feel less redundant. Notwithstanding my neglect of it these days. To do that I’ve made a long overdue update to my profile page (see here) that now includes a direct link to Dr. B’s website. 

Meanwhile I’ve tried cutting myself some slack for the neglect. 

There are posts I’ve wanted to write and grief I’ve been processing that I’ve considered sharing here. But for now the order of the day is “Life rules”.

8 thoughts on “Thoughts on Redundancy 

  1. I think it’s great that you posted a link to Dr. B’s site. After all, you’re the reason I found out about dr. B. and now I have my miracle baby, too! So posting that will definitely help others. Xoxo.

  2. Personally I am so glad you have decided to keep the blog up, as I have enjoyed our online friendship and following your journey. And I think its wonderful that you have a link to the doctor’s site too – hopefully it will be of some service to someone out there who is looking for answers and hope. I look forward to your future posts, however often (or infrequent as Life gets in the way!) they may be. xxx.

  3. I think it’s really important to keep this resource in the ether and am truly happy you’re not abandoning the interwebs.

    I too have had to give deep thought to the purpose of my own blog, and what it offers (particularly as I am not a “success story” and have little to offer in the way of help/resources for others). BUT… I believe that all of our stories offer a salve against the brutal isolation of living the RPL nightmare. The fact that someone may feel less alone is purpose enough, I suppose. And lately I have been writing a great deal about coming to terms with raising an only child, which is hopefully helpful to someone.

    So many hugs.

Leave a Reply

